Relationships Drive Business

Strengthening Customer Engagement to Propel Your Business

2010 Resolutions January 6, 2010

Filed under: Goals,Ideas,Life in General — Carla Bobka @ 2:17 am
Tags:

Wow, another year started. They just keep coming; and that’s a good thing.

I define New Years resolutions as a planned effort to intentionally alter how I approach life. Keeping the list short enables me to maintain focus.
Here’s my list for 2010, in no particular order. They are all important to me, or they wouldn’t have made the short list.

  • Create a legacy of programming excellence for Villanova University Association of Entrepreneurial Executives (VUAEE) by 2011. (the name was developed by taking 5 of the longest words in the dictionary and stringing them together-instant need for an acronym) VUAEE is a new organization and I am VP of Program Management. The goal of the organization is to provide ongoing learning for business execs in the areas of entrepreneurism and leadership. Here’s a link to the Facebook page, the web site will be released soon. My charter as VP of Programming is to create structure around the learning situations and drive membership. Initially 3 have ideas for programming: coaching calls, bi-monthly webinars on entrepreneurial topics, and Panel Reviews where members can present in front of business execs to test ideas, gain guidance on next steps and practice their pitches. Next step is make these events happen.
  • Visit Arcadia National Park in ME before Labor Day. It is part of a larger strategy to spend the new decade exploring N. America, and National Parks specifically. It was inspired by last springs National Parks series on PBS-breath taking.
  • Play golf with my daughters 2 times before the end of summer. Requires they learn to play.
  • Write 104 blog posts before year-end. Two a week, so stay tuned. Any topics you’d like me to tackle-post in comments.
  • Take the next career step by March. This is a biggie, considering the economy. Not letting that stand in my way. My specialties are relationship management and social media. At this moment the combination is a perfect storm as we have entered the era of community and relationships. If you have ideas on oppty’s for me, let me know.

Keep me honest, check on my progress throughout the year. It will refocus my attention.

Happy New Year!

 

3 Responses to “2010 Resolutions”

  1. I’m a bit goal-challenged at the moment so you have provided much-needed inspiratino. Well done!

    • cbobka Says:

      Here’s a timely quote that showed up in my Tweet stream today, very nicely said: RT@smallbizlady

      My motto for 2010 “Focus on moving 3 things a mile, not 100 things an inch.” Angie Katselianos, Platinum Performance International

  2. […] I committed to putting updates in my blog, this where I stand on mine: […]


Leave a Reply

