Relationships Drive Business

Strengthening Customer Engagement to Propel Your Business

Favs This Week – April 25 thru 29, 2011 May 1, 2011

People ask me how I keep up on changes happening on social platforms. It is hard for sure. There’s no way to read everything, there’s just too much information.

Below are things I’ve read over the prior week that have struck me as important or influenced my thinking. You’ll see the link and 1 sentence about what struck me in the post. Take a closer look if something sounds interesting.

Thanks to Duct Tape Marketing for the idea.

This week:

 

The Do’s And Don’ts Before Leaving Your Job – First off 36% of people planning to change jobs? That’s a big number. But the main point here is your last impression, how you finish your last 2 weeks makes one hell of a difference. I have first hand experience with this. Both when I quit and when my position was eliminated. You may not get to control when you exit, but you can control how you exit. Do it well.

Watch Email Campaign Results on a Map in Real Time With WorldView – It is amazing what we can learn about customers when we realize that they are real people at the end of those email addresses. This new technology let’s you watch who is responding and pinpoints their location on a map. It’s like reality TV on your monitor.

Royal Weddings over Time – Yes, I watched the wedding. I’m an unapologetic girlie, girl. These pics of other famous royal weddings are beauties. Beyond the beauty of the event, it was fantastic to see two women (Catherin and Pippa) who were so comfortable in their own skin. Even when on such a big stage. Snaps to them! And I pray my own daughters find the same degree of poise.

This last site moved me, nearly to tears. It is a Facebook page cataloging the personal items found strewn about the south after the April 27th tornado outbreak.  The first post I saw was a pic of a zip-top bag holding a baby tooth. The piece of tape on it said “Blyth’s first tooth.” Look through the Photos tab. It is an album of displaced memories. There are pics of found objects, the name town they were found in and how to reach the person who found it. There are baby pics, graduation pics, wedding and prom pics, burial announcements, canceled checks, precious love notes from the ’50s, vacation pics, even an Xray found in someone’s yard. It is a scrap book and time capsule of southern life. Amidst all the loss and confusion, I suspect this Page will help people heal and make feel more connected to the people around them. They are all in my prayers.

 

Have a great week.

If you missed last week’s, you can find it here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

